NQF, JC Name National Patient Safety Award Winners

Chelsea Rice, February 7, 2013

The National Quality Forum and the Joint Commission honored a health system, health plan, and physician as national leaders in patient safety with the 2012 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards Wednesday.

The national award, given annually since 2002 by the two quality commissions annually, rewards individuals and organizations dedicated to improving healthcare quality and patient safety, whose efforts are also in line with the National Quality Strategy. This year's strategy emphasized improving the overall quality of care through a patient-centered approaches, population and community health initiatives, and reducing the cost of quality care.

Saul N. Weingart, MD, PhD, vice president for quality improvement and patient safety and the director of the Center for Patient Safety at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston, MA, received the patient safety award for "Individual Achievement."

Weingart is nationally accomplished in the field of patient safety, known for founding the Executive Sessions on Medical Error at Harvard Medical School as well as his research on the role of patients and family in improving patient safety. Weingart was recognized for his commitment and contributions to advancing patient safety through his leadership, publications, research, and initiatives in education, such as the development of new curriculum in patient safety and online patient safety courses.

Chelsea Rice

Chelsea Rice is an associate editor for HealthLeaders Media.

Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon