Texas Hospital Receives Level III Trauma Designation

John Commins, August 24, 2010

Rio Grande Regional Hospital in McAllen, TX, has been given a Level III trauma designation from the Texas Department of State Health Services—becoming one of only four hospitals in South Texas to receive certification for this level of care, the HCA Gulf Coast Division affiliate announced.

"Rio Grande Regional Hospital is already known for its excellent trauma care and our commitment to pursuing excellence in care," said Greg Seiler, CEO of the 320-bed acute care hospital. "By receiving the Level III designation, we continue to meet the needs of our growing community by providing quality trauma intervention and treatment."

Trauma surgeons and hospital staff are available 24 hours a day at the hospital. Specially trained nurses attend each trauma patient throughout the day for care advancement and coordination. Trauma data is collected and entered into a registry database for quality improvement and injury prevention initiatives. The trauma coordinator provides trauma education throughout the hospital.

HCA affiliated facilities in the Gulf Coast Division include 12 hospitals, seven ambulatory surgery centers, four free standing emergency centers, five imaging centers, five cancer care programs and a Regional Transfer Center. The Regional Transfer Center provides ground and air patient transportation to and from any HCA Houston Affiliated Hospital and any other healthcare facilities.

See Also:
Trauma Care Fragmented, Study Finds

John Commins

John Commins is a senior editor at HealthLeaders Media.

Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon