HealthLeaders Media Staff, August 23, 2012

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services released on Thursday the final requirements for stage 2 meaningful use, which aims to promote the implementation of electronic medical records among healthcare providers.

The requirements released by CMS:

  • Make clear that stage two of the program will begin as early as 2014. No providers will be required to follow the Stage 2 requirements outlined today before 2014.
  • Outline the certification criteria for the certification of EHR technology, so eligible professionals and hospitals may be assured that the systems they use will work, help them meaningfully use health information technology, and qualify for incentive payments.
  • Modify the certification program to cut red tape and make the certification process more efficient.
  • Allow current “2011 Edition Certified EHR Technology” to be used until 2014.

View the final rule in full.

See Also:
Striving for Meaningful Use Stage 2

Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon