Skip to main content

The Joint Commission to Certify Cardiac Care

News  |  By Tinker Ready  
   January 18, 2017

The centers will have to offer the services for the following conditions to be considered for certification:

  • Ischemic heart disease, including valve replacement and repair
  • Cardiac valve disease
  • Arrhythmias, including electrophysiology services and outpatient device clinic
  • Advanced heart failure, including outpatient services
  • Cardiac arrest, including prevention of in-hospital arrests, resuscitation, and targeted temperature management for cardiac arrest
  • Cardiac rehabilitation of patients
  • Cardiovascular risk factor identification and cardiac disease prevention

The development of the certification program involved feedback from a panel of multidisciplinary clinical experts, a national field review, and "pilot surveys to assess the current state of comprehensive cardiac centers and the operational challenges involved in addressing the multiple domains of cardiac patient care and services," according to The JCHO.

Every year about 735,000 Americans have a heart attack, according to the Centers for Disease Control. Heart disease is the leading cause of death for both men and women. About 610,000 Americans die from heart disease each year.

Tinker Ready is a contributing writer at HealthLeaders Media.

Tagged Under:

Get the latest on healthcare leadership in your inbox.