Skip to main content

AHCA/NCAL Kick Off Summer with Award Announcements

Analysis  |  By Jasmyne Ray  
   June 08, 2023

Recipients will be acknowledged during the organization's annual Congressional Briefing.

During the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living's (AHCA/NCAL) Annual Congressional Briefing event this week, the organizations will present an advocacy award to two honorees.

Leticia Caballero and Norman Rokeach will be recognized as recipients of the 2023 Joe Warner Patient Advocacy Award. The award is given to AHCA/NCAL members who work directly to educate members of Congress about the issues and needs of long-term and post-acute care and patients, and how to advance quality care.

Caballero serves as the director of government relations for HMG Healthcare, with more than 25 years of experience advocating at the state and federal level. She has also served in senior roles within the Texas House of Representatives, director of governmental affairs for the Texas Health Care Association, and as the state's regional federal political director for AHCA/NCAL.

Rokeach is the founder and president of Marquis Limited and principal/partner of Tryko Partners' Healthcare Division. Beginning his career as a facility administrator, he went on to serve as regional director of operations at Global Health, and later CEO once Marquis Health was founded in 2011. Rokeach has also previously served on AHCA's board of governors.

AHCA/NCAL have also announced this year's recipients of its Bronze National Quality Awards. The award, the first of three distinctions through the organization's quality award program, honors facilities for their commitment to quality. This year's recipients include 277 skilled nursing facilities, 57 assisted living communities, and 60 facilities that offer both services.

"I applaud all of these providers for taking this important first step in their quality journey," Mark Parkinson, president and CEO of AHCA/NCAL, said in a statement. "The work that they have accomplished lays the groundwork to continue to improve the lives of the individuals who live and work in long-term care."

AHCA/NCAL has published a list of all of this year's Bronze Award recipients to their Quality Award website. Honorees for the Silver and Gold awards will be announced at the end of June and August, respectively.

The National Quality Awards will be presented during the AHCA/NCAL Convention and Expo, Delivering Solutions 23, set for October 1-4, 2023 in Denver.

Jasmyne Ray is the revenue cycle editor at HealthLeaders. 

Get the latest on healthcare leadership in your inbox.