The Hill, July 18, 2014

The Department of Health and Human Services has exempted health insurers in U.S. territories from a slew of requirements under ObamaCare. In a Wednesday letter, the HHS said the insurance companies in the territories do not have to follow certain marketplace requirements because they are not considered states. Insurance companies in Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the Northern Mariana Islands are no longer required to implement a number of ObamaCare measures such as the community rating system, a single-risk pool, the medical loss ratio or guaranteed benefits.

Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Twitter icon