Skip to main content

Which APMs Are Advanced APMs For 2018?

News  |  By Jack O'Brien  
   February 05, 2018

CMS released a table of Alternative Payment Models for 2018, displaying changes and new designs involving MIPS and Advanced APMs.

A new table released Monday by the CMS Quality Payment Program highlights which alternative payment models (APMs) qualify as Advanced APMs this year.

The document lists three criteria an APM must meet to be designated an Advanced APM. First, it must require participants to use certified electronic health record technology (CEHRT). Second, it must rely on quality measures comparable to those used under the Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) as the basis for providing payments.  

Third, it must either “be a Medical Home Model expanded under CMS Innovation Center authority” or require participating entities to assume a greater degree of financial risk.

The table lists 38 APMs, 10 of which qualify as Advanced APMs, including the Bundled Payments for Care Improvement Advanced Model (BPCI Advanced).

Related: New Voluntary Bundled Payments Program Eligible For MACRA Bonus Pay

BPCI Advanced, authorized through the Affordable Care Act and scheduled to begin this October, follows an episode payment model and could potentially offer participants access to bonus payments under the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA). The voluntary bundled payment model was introduced last month by the Trump administration and is expected to garner widespread participation.

CMS Administrator Seema Verma said the model will entice providers to “deliver efficient, high-quality care.”

The full table—which also identifies which APMs are MIPS APMs—can be found here.

Jack O'Brien is the Content Team Lead and Finance Editor at HealthLeaders, an HCPro brand.

Get the latest on healthcare leadership in your inbox.